Things I Would Tell Myself If I Could Rewind Back A Year

I’ve already done a blog post on things I would tell my 16-year-old self, but for me this time last year I was about to embark on one of the biggest changes in my life, moving away from home and going to University. Looking back now after finishing my first year, there would definitely be quite a few things I would tell myself if I could rewind back the time. 

1. Don’t worry about everything too much – it’ll all be okay.

I’m not somebody that really likes change, and I think that’s the same for most people. For me the idea of going to University was a big challenge, the thought of moving away from the comforts of home, and my friends and family definitely played on my mind a lot. But after my first year I can safely say that going to University was one of the best things I’ve decided to do, I’ve made some amazing friends, had some of the best times and really enjoyed my course. As much as I miss home sometimes, everyone’s in the same position and University only lasts three years, which is flying by so I intend on making the most of it. 

2. Enjoy halls because it’ll be over before you know it!

I remember when I first walked into my room in halls back in September, at first I didn’t think much of it and couldn’t imagine ever feeling completely at home there. But I couldn’t have been more wrong. After making a few homely touches to my room, developing some really good friendships with my flatmates and memories being made, our little Flat 3A felt so much like home. Even though we’re looking forward to moving into our house I know some of us were definitely very sad to leave!! 

3. You’re going to finish your first year wondering why you ever worried!

One things for sure, after having the most amazing first year ever, I do wonder to myself why I worried in the first place. I know it was only natural cause it was a big change in my life, but looking back on my how much I’ve enjoyed my first year I definitely wouldn’t change a thing!!

Now I’m home to enjoy the summer, and looking forward to what the next two years bring!

Leave a Reply

