Safe Haven Review

They say that last minute plans always turn out to be the best, and that’s exactly how I felt after going to see Safe Haven last weekend. 

At about 6pm on Saturday night I got a text from one of my best friends from home asking if I was up for a trip to the cinema to see Nicholas Sparks’ latest release. I remember seeing the trailer on TV once or twice, but I had never really paid much attention to what the film was about, all I knew is that it was based on a book written by the same author as titles such as The Notebook, Dear John and The Lucky One. And being such a sucker for the typical romantic, girly films it was a no brainer.

All I can say, is that I absolutely loved it!! The main characters were played by Josh Duhamel and Julianne Hough, two actors that I haven’t seen in many films, but they were great. I liked the fact that they didn’t use two really famous actors that everyone would recognise, as it made the story much more realistic. 

The main thing I loved about the film was that it wasn’t predictable, which I thought it would be. I love a good chic-flick but it is always easy to predict pretty much every stage of the film, whereas Safe Haven was full of twists and turns that I think made the story line more gripping, and had a lot of the audience on the edge of their seats.

Its not often that I watch a film and would happily watch it again straight after, but in Safe Haven’s case I definitely would. I loved it so much that when I got home I found myself browsing through Amazon and purchasing the book!

So if, like me, you’re a fan of a good love story, or even if you just fancy a trip to the cinema but can’t decide what to see, try Safe Haven. You never know, you might love it as much as I did. 

Image

Leave a Reply

