Beckham Does Britain Proud

Football. A bunch of guys kicking a ball around a pitch and getting paid an absolute packet for it. Something I’ll never really understand. 

I’m not one of those people who has a burning hatred for football, but at the same time I’d never find myself choosing to watch it either. I only ever really remember sitting down to watch a match on what I call ‘special occasions’ like England playing in the World Cup, but even then I probably ended up getting distracted by any attractive players. 

Something I have always felt strongly about though is the incredible wage footballers are on. Why are they paid thousands of pounds a week just to kick a ball around, yet people in professions we couldn’t live without such as nursing and the army earn just a fraction of this?!

This is why I was pleasantly surprised when I heard that David Beckham was joining Paris St Germain (PSG) – a French football team for no salary. Beckham will still be paid but instead has chosen, with the team’s managers, that his salary will be donated to a children’s charity in Paris. 

Beckham said: “It’s one of the things we’re very excited and proud to be able to do, it’s something exciting and something I’m not sure has been done before.

“It’s something I’m very passionate about, children and the charity side of things, and so are the club. So we came together and it’s something special.”

At the age of 37, and being a huge football icon, I think Beckham’s decision sets a good example to both other players, and younger boys aspiring to become footballers, teaching them it’s not all about the money.

It may be a stretch, but hopefully other players will follow in his footsteps in the years to come. 

Image

Leave a Reply

