My First Semester at Uni

Going to University is a big step in life. Everyone constantly refers to it throughout your school years, and it feels like all the hard work you put in from starting school at the age of four, to sitting your A level exams leads up to the big moment when you have to pack your bags and leave the comforts of home for the first time.

The funny thing is, once you get into the swing of uni life you wonder what you ever worried about in the first place. I think that has been the best thing about my first semester at uni, because as cheesy as it sounds, it has completely exceeded my expectations and I’ve already made a tonne of memories that I know will stick with me for a very long time.

Freshers fortnight was a memorable part of semester one, everyone was meeting each other for the first time and we were all keen to make friends. Not only did we have to get to know our flat mates for the year, we were also introduced to our course mates and lecturers – talk about being thrown into the deep end!

After the first two weeks of my Magazine Journalism and Feature Writing course, I was left completely overwhelmed by all the amazing opportunities we were given and people we got to meet. My favourites had to be Stooshe and Jessica David, the former editor of glamourmagazine.co.uk

My first semester has also provided me with a mixture of challenges including beginning to learn the art of shorthand, and patch reporting for our course newspaper.

The end of semester one will be remembered for stress, stress, stress! We had assignments up to our eyeballs and also had to arrange work experience for over the Christmas break which was no less than daunting.

Looking back my first semester as a uni student has been pretty amazing, here’s hoping the rest of my uni life lives up to the standard!

Leave a Reply

